Home

Webinar: WQ-MAKER: A Flexible, Scalable Genome Annotation Pipeline on Jestream Cloud

February 24, 2017     1 PM EST, noon CST, 11 AM MST, 10 AM PST

In this webinar, we present WQ-MAKER, a customized version of MAKER with a Work Queue-based distributed computing framework designed to run MAKER on multiple virtual machines on the Jetstream cloud. We'll show how to run WQ-MAKER on a test dataset starting from setting up a Jetstream account along with some of the accessory scripts (Ansible playbooks and custom scripts) and a few apps developed to manage the computation and progress. Performance numbers for various genomes annotated using WQ-MAKER will be discussed. The tutorial for this webinar is online at: https://wiki.cyverse.org/wiki/display/TUT/MAKER+2.31.8+with+CCTOOLS+Jets... and a publication describing WQ-MAKER is here: http://ccl.cse.nd.edu/research/papers/maker-wq-ijbra.pdf.

Register

 

Focus Forum webinars are offered on various topics and are designed to enhance users' experience with CyVerse tools and platforms. They give users an opportunity to interact with CyVerse staff and community members to learn about new tools, discuss "best practices" for performing analyses and troubleshooting any potential difficulties, and connect with the community. During the year, topics may focus on any CyVerse science area or service, or using and developing any platform. Users may suggest and vote for webinar topics through the Ask Forum.

Who Should Attend?

This webinar is open to people who are using the CyVerse resources and want to learn more about the specific topic. Users are encouraged to post questions and problems encountered to the Ask Forum for discussion during the webinar.

About the Presenter

Upendra Kumar Devisetty is a CyVerse Science Informatician. He has a Ph.D. in Plant Molecular Biology and Biotechnology and has broad bioinformatics experience with particular expertise in Next Generation Sequencing and RNA Sequencing. At CyVerse Devisetty focuses on building tools and apps, providing Extended Collaborative Support (ECS), and helping teach new users how to use components of the CyVerse infrastructure. 
CyVerse science informatician Upendra Devisetty
 
 
 
 
Location: 
Online
Primary Contact: 

Martha Narro - CyVerse

End date: 
Friday, February 24, 2017 - 14:00